
I haven't wrote in a while and for those of you who enjoy reading them, I apologize. I haven't been overly busy, just a lot of little things here and there that take up more time than one would think. Our household goods finally came in on the 5th of August. Sadly a few of our goods were turned into fire wood. I realize the movers don't really care about what happens to our things but at the same time..both of Sean's dressers were smashed! I have unpacked almost everything and once I had pictures up it felt like a home. I can't wait to print some pictures of everything and hang them up!
Germany is amazing! The people here are some of the kindest people I've met. I will admit I was afraid I would encounter people who wanted nothing to do with Americans. So far I've only met friendly people who are just as interested in me as I am them! This country and its people amaze me. They drink lots-o-beer, eat lots-o-bread, and gain zero weight! The shuttle driver told me its the way the beer and bread are made that makes it to where they don't gain weight as much. The only "fat" Germans I've seen have been at the swimming pool and the older people. The older generation amazes me even more. Germans pedal, walk, bus, or scoot just about everywhere. It takes 2000 euro to get your drivers license over here. 2000! American should do that, I think it would save a lot of lives. They have to take 20 plus hours of driving school. This in turn makes them some of the most excellent drivers I have ever seen. They can park just about ANYWHERE, and I do mean anywhere, they slink in and out of traffic like fish swimming against the current, and they have (well don't show) zero road rage.
No big surprise to anyone I'm sure, but it's worth mentioning that I have made friends. It has proven harder than I thought, but at the same time, you have to put yourself out there. If you don't, you're going to be bored out of your mind. I am taking care of a friends little boy,Xavier. He is 2 him and Allie get along really well(sometimes lol).
John, the kids and I are doing well. John really is one of the best men I've ever met. I love my husband so much!
Here is a list of things that are very much German
-a beer costs less than a soda
-bikes have their own driving lane
-bratwursts are amazing & sold on almost ever corner
-you can take your doggie just about anywhere you want to; in stores & restaurants
-Germans are constantly fixing something
-apt's do not always come with a kitchen sink!
-German sweets are not as sweet as America's...but they taste better!
-stores close for a month (a prime sales months) to go on holiday
-you can sit at a restaurant or pub for as long as your hearts desire- they don't care or try to rush you off after your meal is finished. I think it's because people eventually buy something else to eat or drink
-some restaurants and cafes have seating outside with blankets so you can have a coffee and stay warm while you read. they don't put fences around them either
-gas is sold by the liter...it's 1.40 to 1.70 EURO a liter and they still fill their tanks by the gallon!
-Germans grocery shop daily or every other day instead of weekly, bi-weekly or monthly the way Americans do, I don't this taking kids to the store sucks
-there is no turning "right on red"...booooo!
-the stop lights change, red, yellow, green and green, yellow,red. I like this!
-you have to have a license to drive a scooter!
-most shops close down no later than 8pm, nothing is opened on Sundays except some restaurants (it's the law)
-cell phone plans are a joke
-there are flowers EVERYWHERE you look and they are beautiful!
I think that's all I have for now! Love you all!

